LS Polls: NC-Congress announces seat sharing arrangement

National Conference - Congress

JAMMU — The parties including National Conference and Congress on Wednesday announced seat sharing arrangement for the six Lok Sabha constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir.

The announcement was made as arrangements worked out after a four-member Congress team led by leader of opposition in the Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azadi visited the residence of National Conference President, Dr Farooq Abdullah at Bhatandi here. Senior National Conference leaders were also present in the meeting.

Announcing the arrangement at a press conference here this afternoon immediately after the meeting, Dr. Farooq said that National Conference will contest all the three seats of the Valley, Baramulla, Srinagar, Anantnag and Ladakh.

However, the party will not field its candidates in Jammu and Udhampur seats to ensure that the secular votes are not divided, NC president said.

Flights resume in Kashmir after four days of suspension

Ghulam Nabi Azad declared that keeping in view the stature of Dr Farooq Abdullah in the national and the State politics, the Congress will not field its candidate against him from Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency.

He lauded the crucial role being played by Dr Abdullah in the national politics in strengthening secular forces and isolating the divisive parties, which pose grave threat to the unity of the country.

He said that the nation has been hugely heeding to the advice of the towering National Conference leader which was greatly witnessed during the Opposition conclaves in various parts of the country including Kolkata.

Congress launches Bharat Jodo Yatra theme song in Kashmiri

While stressing the need for strengthening inclusive ethos of the nation, Dr Farooq Abdullah advised the Congress to stitch alliance with the like-minded parties elsewhere in the country in order to meet the challenge posed by divisive and communal forces.

He said that the nation is passing through a difficult phase and there was urgent need to unite and foil the machinations of the inimical forces.

While the Congress team comprised senior leader Ambika Soni, Pradesh Congress President Ghulam Ahmed Mir and former minister Nawang Rigzin Jora, the National Conference was represented in the meeting by senior leader Mohammed Shaffi Uri besides Provincial Presidents, Devender Singh Rana and Nasir Aslam Wani.

Editor's Note

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Get latest news updates by subscribing to our Telegram channel or follow our WhatsApp channel!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here