Five J-K residents get Padma Awards 2020 and 2021

Five J-K residents get Padma Awards 2020 and 2021

SRINAGAR — Five Jammu and Kashmir residents including a politician, social worker, two educationists and an artist have received the prestigious Padma Awards of 2020 and 2021 from the President of India on Monday.

As per details available with Kashmir News Service (KNS), those who have been awarded Padma Awards 2020 include senior leader and former chief minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig, educationist Shiv Datt Nirmohi, social worker Javid Ahmad Tak.

Meanwhile, artist Ghulam Rasool Khan and educationist Chaman Lal Sapru have received the Padma Awards for the year 2021. Chaman Lal Sapru has been awarded the Padma Shri posthumously.

Baig has been awarded the Padma Bhushan Award for his contributions in politics and public work, while Shiv Datt, Khan, Tak and Sapru have been awarded Padma Shri Award in literature and education, art and social work, respectively.

Meanwhile, Lt. Governor of Jammu and Kashmir, Manoj Sinha congratulated all three Padma Awardees from the Union Territory.

“Heartiest congratulations to all Padma awardees from UT of J&K. A proud moment for the people of J&K,” office of LG J&K tweeted.

In another tweet, office of LG J&K said: “Many congratulations to Shri Ghulam Rasool Khan and the family of Shri Chaman Lal Sapru (posthumously) from UT of J&K for receiving the prestigious Padma Shri Awards 2021. Their achievements and exemplary service to the nation will inspire and motivate generations.”

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here