Govt forms ‘Tree Committee’ for Srinagar, Jammu

Tree - Wood - Trunk - Branches - Nature

SRINAGAR — The government on Thursday formed a five-member ‘Tree Committee’ to ensure the preservation of all trees within the jurisdiction of Srinagar and Jammu Municipal Corporations.

Headed by Mayor of the respective Corporations, the ‘Tree Committee’ has been also tasked to obtain declaration from all owners or occupants about the number of trees in their lands, to specify the standards regarding the number and kind of trees in each locality and type of land and premises.

Wives of ex-militants protest in Srinagar

As per an order, the authorities have been also tasked to assist private and public institutions connected with planting and preservation of trees and undertake such schemes or measures as may be directed from time to time for achieving the objectives of these provisions.

Besides Mayor as chairman, the respective authorities comprise Deputy Mayor, Commissioner, Divisional Forest Officer, Urban Forestry division and District Horticulture Officer.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here