All-women police stations to start functioning from May 15


Srinagar: Four all-women police stations in Jammu and Kashmir would become functional from May 15, officials said.

The police stations have been set up in Anantnag and Baramulla districts of Kashmir division and Rajouri and Udhampur in Jammu region.

Orders for deployment of manpower and terms of reference of these police stations were issued on Friday by Director General of Police K Rajendra Kumar, an official spokesman said.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti after assuming office had issued orders for setting up of four women police stations in the state.

In the first cabinet meeting Mehbooba decided to set up the police stations to provide grievance redressal to women in areas close to their homes, the spokesman said.

He said so far two women police stations are working in the twin capital cities of Jammu and Srinagar. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here