Entire Kashmir division to be treated as Red Zone: P K Pole

Red Zone area in Pulwama
Locals in Pakherpora sealed entry & exit points to check the spread of COVID-19 after a positive case surfaced in a nearby area. (Photo Credit: Reshi Irshad)

SRINAGAR — The Divisional Administration of Kashmir division is reported to have decided to treat the entire Kashmir region as Red Zone and there will be no relaxation despite the Union Home Ministry classified only four districts as the Red Zone, as per media reports.

The decision of the Divisional Commissioner P K Pole’s office comes after the Centre extended the lockdown for two more weeks, beginning on Monday.

Story continues below advertisement

According to P.K. Pole, there is very little difference between the Red and the Orange Zones given the type of restrictions to be imposed and the level of caution to be exercised.

Government announces strict 4-day lockdown in Kashmir

“We cannot afford to lower the guard at this time. All the ten districts of the Valley will be treated as the Red Zone until further orders,” media reports quoted P K Pole as having said.

“We have only one district classified as the Green Zone which is the Pulwama district, and some new cases have come to light even in this district,” Pole said to the media.

The Union Health Ministry has classified only four districts including Bandipora, Srinagar, Shopian and Anantnag as Red Zone and one district, Pulwama as the Green Zone. In comparison, all other five districts of Kashmir division including Kulgam, Shopian, Budgam, Ganderbal and Baramulla are classified as the Orange Zone.

Renowned doctor among 10 more die, J&K toll 554

No district in the Jammu division has been classified as the Red Zone, and all the ten districts including Jammu, Samba, Kathua, Reasi, Udhampur, Ramban, Poonch, Rajouri, Doda and Kishtwar fall into the category of the Orange Zone.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here