Lok Sabha Election 2024 in Jammu and Kashmir

SRINAGAR — As the last date for filing nomination papers for the Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary constituency ended on Friday, 25 candidates have filed their nomination papers with Mehbooba Mufti from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Mian Altaf from National Conference (NC) prominent among them.

As per the details available with the news agency KNO, 25 candidates have filed their nomination papers while the scrutiny of papers will be done on Saturday.

Returning Officer of the constituency and Deputy Commissioner (DC) Anantnag, Syed Fakhrudin Hamid in a press conference said that the last date for withdrawal of the forms is April 22 following which meetings regarding different issues including symbols will be conducted.

Manoj Sinha likely to resign as J-K's LG: Sources

He said that all the arrangements for the smooth conduct of the election had been made and whatever more would be required would be done on time. Besides, the Returning Officer urged people to cast their votes on May 7 and said it is both the duty and responsibility of the citizens to cast their vote.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has not fielded their candidate from the constituency. It is believed that the BJP would likely extend its support to Apni Party (AP) candidate Zaffar Manhas or DPAP candidate Advocate Muhammad Saleem Parray.

Two tourists injured in militant attack in Anantnag: Police

Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP) had earlier announced its Chairman Ghulam Nabi Azad as the candidate from the constituency, but later it decided to field Advocate Saleem Parray as the party candidate to vie for the seat.

The Anantnag-Rajouri parliamentary seat, comprising 18 Assembly Segments, is poised for a riveting contest in the upcoming elections.

With prominent contenders from the National Conference (NC), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and the Apni Party vying for victory, the electoral dynamics promise an intriguing triangular battle.

The Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat boasts a formidable electorate of 1,925,450 votes, with significant representation from South Kashmir and Rajouri-Poonch districts.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here