Representational Image

SRINAGAR — The election authorities have proposed to set up 5,403 polling stations in 47 Assembly constituencies of Kashmir Valley.

The draft proposals, according to the news agency Kashmir News Observer, reveal that 5403 polling stations would be set up in Kashmir Valley. The district election officers have put the draft proposals in the public domain and sought objections/suggestions over them. The exercise of rationalization of polling stations would be finalized before the beginning of the summary revision.

The district election officer Srinagar has proposed to set up 913 polling stations in the district spread over eight Assembly segments. Of which, 109 would be established in Hazratbal, 129 in Khanyar, 127 in Habba Kadal, 91 in Chanpora, 135 in Lal Chowk, 144 in Zadibal, 69 in Eid Gah and 109 in central Shalteng.

As per the draft proposal, the adjoining Budgam district will have 602 polling stations with 148 in the Budgam Assembly segment, 116 in Beerwah, 114 in Khansahib, 123 in Charar-i-Sharief and 101 in the Chadoora constituency.

Election may be held early next year in J&K

Similarly, 260 polling stations have been proposed in two constituencies of central Kashmir’s Ganderbal district with 105 in Kangan and 155 in Ganderbal.

The election authorities have also proposed to establish 300 polling stations in three constituencies of north Kashmir’s Bandipora district with 136 in Bandipora, 135 in Sonawari and 29 in the Gurez constituency.

According to the draft proposal put in the public domain by DEO Baramulla, 899 polling stations would be established in the district with 128 in Sopore, 143 in Rafiabad, 147 in Uri, 156 in Baramulla, 114 in Gulmarg, 94 in Wagoora-Kreeri and 117 in Pattan.

In the Kupwara district, 578 polling stations have been proposed in six constituencies with 84 polling stations being established in the newly created constituency Trehgam, 88 in Kupwara, 74 in Karnah, 90 in Lolab, 132 in Langate and 110 in Handwara.

Elections: SEC reviews preparations for counting

Similarly in south Kashmir’s Pulwama district, 459 polling stations have been proposed in four constituencies with 115 in Pampore, 106 in Tral, 106 in Pulwama and 123 in Rajpora.

In the adjoining Shopian district, 245 polling stations have been proposed to be established in two constituencies with 120 in Shopian and 125 in Zainapora.

According to the proposal, 798 polling stations have been proposed in south Kashmir’s Anantnag district with 146 in Dooru, 111 in Kokernag (ST), 138 in Anantnag west, 70 in Anantnag, 117 in Srigufwara Bijbehara, 121 in Shangus (Anantnag east) and 95 in Pahalgam.

In Kulgam district, 349 polling stations have been proposed in three constituencies with 102 in DH-Pora, 127 in Kulgam and 120 in Devsar, respectively.

Editor's Note

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Get latest news updates by subscribing to our Telegram channel or follow our WhatsApp channel!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here