J&K BJP finalizes candidates for crucial Kashmir seats

Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP

SRINAGAR — The Jammu and Kashmir Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has concluded its selection process for candidates vying for three significant seats in Kashmir, with the list of potential contenders forwarded to the party’s head office for consideration by the parliamentary affairs panel.

Reliable sources within the BJP disclosed that the party has identified potential candidates for key constituencies in Kashmir. Darakshan Andrabi, Altaf Thakur, Ashok Bhat, and Arif Raja have emerged as potential contenders for the Central Kashmir Parliamentary seat. Meanwhile, the North Kashmir seat presents three potential candidates: Anwar Khan, Surinder Ambardar, and Fakir Muhammad Khan.

In the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency, J&K BJP chief Ravinder Raina has expressed his intent to contest. Notably, former National Conference MLC Shehaz Ganai, who recently joined the BJP in New Delhi, is also under consideration. Sources within the BJP speculate that Ganai may secure the party ticket for the Anantnag-Rajouri constituency, citing her familial legacy and widespread support base.

Voting rights to non-locals totally unacceptable: Farooq Abdullah

The J&K BJP leadership remains in close communication with the party’s central leadership in New Delhi. A senior BJP leader affirmed that the list of candidates has been submitted to the parliamentary panel for review, with a final decision expected imminently to allow candidates ample time for campaigning.

Expressing confidence, the BJP aims to secure victory in all three Kashmir seats. The recent inclusion of prominent figures has injected renewed vigour into the party, with anticipation of further influential individuals joining in the coming days.

Audio viral as BJP leader receives threatening phone call in Rajouri

Preparations are also underway for the two seats in Jammu, with candidate selections nearing completion for submission to the BJP’s parliamentary affairs panel in New Delhi.

MoS in PMO and incumbent MP, Dr Jitendera Singh is anticipated to be retained for the Kathua-Udhampur Lok Sabha seat. However, for the Jammu seat, there is a possibility of incumbent MP Jugal Kishore being replaced. Former J&K Assembly speaker Kavinder Gupta and Devender Singh Rana are identified as primary contenders for the seat, according to BJP sources.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here