Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar
Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar

SRINAGAR — The Election Commission of India on Saturday said that there will be no simultaneous Jammu and Kashmir assembly elections along with the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Addressing a press conference in New Delhi to announce the Lok Sabha polls’ schedule and four state assemblies, CEC Rajiv Kumar said that only four states will go simultaneously to polls along with Lok Sabha and there will be no assembly polls in J&K.

He said that assembly polls will be held in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh along with the Lok Sabha polls.

CEO reviews preparations in Jammu parliamentary constituency

“The Lok Sabha polls will begin from April 19 and will be held in 7 phases. He said that the counting of votes will be held on June 4,” he said.

He also said that polls to five Lok Sabha constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir will be held in five phases and only one J&K constituency will go to polls in each phase.

The first phase will be held on April 19, the second on April 26, the third on May 7, the fourth on May 13, the fifth on May 20, the sixth on May 25 and the seventh on June 1.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here