Syed Ali Shah Geelani passes away in Srinagar

Restrictions Imposed, Internet Suspended; Mehbooba, Sajad Condole Demise

Syed Ali Shah Geelani
Syed Ali Shah Geelani

SRINAGAR — Chairman of Hurriyat Conference (G), Syed Ali Shah Geelani passed away at his residence in Hyderpora here on Wednesday.

The 92-year-old veteran Hurriyat Conference leader was not keeping well for a long time. He passed away this evening, officials confirmed to GNS.

Meanwhile, sources said that security establishment has decided to make elaborate arrangements in wake of the Geelani’s demise.

“Restrictions imposed including suspension of internet services in the Valley,” IGP Kashmir Vijay Kumar said.

Meanwhile, mainstream leaders including Mehbooba Mufti and Sajd Lone expressed condolence.

“Saddened by the news of Geelani sahab’s passing away. We may not have agreed on most things but I respect him for his steadfastness & standing by his beliefs. May Allah Ta’aala grant him jannat & condolences to his family & well wishers,” Mehbooba, former Chief Minister of erstwhile J&K state and PDP chief, said.

140 lady constables pass out from Sher-i-Kashmir Police Academy

Sajad Lone, chairman of Peoples Conference and former minister in a tweet said, “Heartfelt condolences to the family of Syed Ali Shah Geelani Sahib. Was an esteemed colleague of my late father. May Allah grant him Jannat.”

Geelani was previously a key member of Jamaat-e-Islami Kashmir but later on founded his own party by the name of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat. He served as the Chairman of the All Parties Hurriyat Conference, a conglomerate of various separatist parties, formed on July 31, 1993.

Two militant associates arrested in Tral: Police

In September 2003, the Hurriyat Conference split on the questions of its future strategies, the role of militancy, and dialogue. Subsequently, Tehreek-e-Hurriyat came into existence.

Before becoming staunch separatist figure, Geelani was an MLA from Sopore constituency and had won in 1972. He won in the Assembly polls from the same constituency in 1977 and 1987.

Editor's Note

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Get latest news updates by subscribing to our Telegram handle or join our WhatsApp Group!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here