J&K Government

SRINAGAR — In a significant move, the administration of J&K Union Territory has empowered more officers to undertake the process of eviction of unauthorized occupants from migrant land.

In a notification, a copy of which is in possession of the news agency Kashmir News Observer (KNO), the Department of Revenue has designated Additional Deputy Commissioners/Assistant Commissioners of DCs/ACRs in the areas where SDMs are not posted/designated, Sub-Divisional Magistrates and Tehsildars as the competent authority to issue requisite orders/notices for eviction of migrant land, within their respective jurisdictions.

Authorities undecided about reopening of schools in J&K

The powers have been delegated to them under clause (b) of section 2 of The Jammu and Kashmir Migrant Immovable Property (Preservation, Protection and Restraint on Distress Sales) Act, 1997.

Under the provision, the “competent authority” means the District Magistrate of the area and includes such other officers of the area as the government may appoint for an area.

So far, the powers to carry out the eviction process were only vested with DMs only.

The law enacted in 1997 empowers the competent authority to prepare the details of immovable property of migrants and take appropriate action to evict unauthorised occupants of such migrant property.

Former IAS officer BR Sharma appointed JKPSC chairman

“The competent authority may take or cause to be taken such steps and use or cause to be used such force as may be, in its opinion necessary for eviction from or delivery of possession of the immovable property under this Act,” reads the law.

Editor's Note

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Get latest news updates by subscribing to our Telegram handle or join our WhatsApp Group!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here