Javid Qureshi (BJP)
Javid Qureshi

SRINAGAR — BJP leader Javid Qureshi and 10 others from Jammu & Kashmir figure in the list of candidates who have been disqualified by the Election Commission of India (ECI) from contesting any election till July 2023.

In an official communication to chief electoral officers of States and Union Territories on October 13, 2022, a copy of which is in possession of the news agency KNO, the poll–body has barred Qureshi and 10 others from contesting any election till July 9, 2023.

Top ECI official to hold meeting with J-K DCs

These candidates, who had contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, had failed to submit an account of election expenses within the time, attracting three-year disqualification from the poll -body.

Qureshi had contested the 2019 Lok Sabha election from the Baramulla Lok Sabha segment as an independent candidate and secured mere 3383 votes from 15 Assembly segments. He had secured mere 146 votes from his native segment of Langate.

The other names in the list of disqualified candidates include Anil Singh (Jammu Lok Sabha seat), Balwan Singh (Jammu seat), Sikander Ahmad Nourani (Jammu seat), Rakesh Mudgal (Udhampur seat), Firdous Ahmad Bawani, (Udhampur seat), Riyaz Ahmad Bhat (Anantnag seat), Shams Khawaja (Anantnag seat), Ali Muhammad Wani (Anantnag seat), Surinder Singh (Anantnag seat) and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh (Srinagar seat).

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here