Congress defeats BJP in Leh by-poll, takes potshots at Azad

All India Congress Committee (AICC)

LEH — The Congress on Saturday retained Temisgam seat in the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), Leh by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

According to details available with the news agency KNO, Tashi Tundup of Congress defeated BJP’s Dorjay Namgayal by 273 votes in the by-election which was necessitated after the death of a Congress councillor. While Tashi polled 861 votes, BJP’s nominee secured 588 votes.

Story continues below advertisement

Meanwhile, the Congress high command has congratulated its Leh unit on the victory and took potshots at former Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, who recently resigned from the party.

August 5: JK BJP to hoist tricolour in all constituencies, says Ashok Koul

“Here is some breaking news for Modi, Shah and Azad. The Congress party has defeated the BJP by a convincing margin in the Temisgam bye-election to the Ladakh Hill Council. Congratulations to the Ladakh District Congress Committee!,” Jairam Ramesh of the Congress tweeted.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here