LAHDC: BJP Councilors withdraw support from NC in Kargil

BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin
BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin

KARGIL — Under the direction of BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin, six BJP Councillors of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Kargil have withdrawn support from NC leader Feroz Khan-led LAHDC.

BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin told news agency Kashmir News Trust that the decision was taken after a thorough discussion with all the stakeholders and BJP executive members and functionaries.

LAHDC Kargil was jointly running with the BJP-NC alliance led by National Conference leader Feroz Khan.

Kashmiri lawyer sends legal notice to BJP MLA for anti-Muslim remarks

The reason behind withdrawing the support from NC as per Phunchok Stanzin was the lackadaisical approach of LAHDC Kargil under the council that, according to him, is not serving its constitutional responsibilities.

He said the allotted funds for the purpose of public welfare were also not translated in a transparent and accountable manner. “The influence of the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference is also not favouring public welfare as such, instead JKNC is resorting to vendetta politics which ultimately creates mistrust between the public and LAHDC-Kargil,” Stanzin alleged.

BJP confirms resignation of Ganga, Lal Singh

He added that the work ethics of LAHDC-Kargil Councilors are also not appropriate for grassroots democracy and Constitutional responsibilities.

The six BJP members who withdrew support from National Conference are Mohsin Ali (Councillor – Chiktan), Stanzin Lakpa (Councillor – Cha) Muhammad Ali Chandan (Councillor – Shargole) Padma Dorjey (Councillor – Nominated) Leela Bano (Councillor – Nominated) Stanzin Chosgyal (Councillor – Nominated) and Zainab Bee (Councillor – Nominated).

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here