Pakistan need 90 runs to defeat Sri Lanka


Galle: The second ball after Lunch, Sri Lanka lost their leader, Angelo Mathews after he was given caught by Azhar Ali off Yasir Shah. Angelo reviewed the decision straightaway but due to no conclusive evidence, umpire Richard Illingworth upheld his terrible decision as there were clear day light between bat and ball.
Sri Lanka needed Dimuth Karunarathne to bat on and get a big hundred but a lapse of concentration when he was 79 provoked him to come down the track against a sharp turning ball by Yasir Shah but missed it completely and the bails were whipped off excellently by Sarfraz Ahmed.
Dinesh Chandimal and Kithruwan Vithanage were the last two recognized batsmen for Sri Lanka but Vithnage played a horrible sweep shot against Yasir Shah to send Lankan into deep trouble.
Earlier, Pakistan made the best possible start on day five when night watchman, Dilruwan Perera left a Yasir Shah googly which crashed the off-stump in the very first ball.
Yasir Shah and Zulfiqar Babar were attacking all morning with only two fielders in the off-side prompting the left-handed duo, Dimuth Karunarathne and Lahiru Thirimanne to hit against the spin.
Both Dimuth and Thirimanne used their feat excellently against Babar and Shah which negotiated the spin extracted out of this four days old surface. Dimuth showed signs of determination and courage throughout his innings when the ball did not caress through the leg-side due to the heavy on-side field.
Thirimanne was eye-pleasing and his elegant cuts through the third-man region off Hafeez expunged the threat delicately. Wahab Riaz was brought back in the 49th over for his 2nd spell and immediately dismissed the Lankan vice-captain after the left-hander was lured to play at a delivery well outside his off-stump.
Sri Lanka – 300 all out in 109.3 overs: Dimuth Karunarathne 21, Kaushal Silva 125, Kumar Sangakkara 50, Dinesh Chandimal 23, Wahab Riaz 3/74, Zulfiqar Babar 3/64, Yasir Shah 2/79, Mohammed Hafeez 2/40.
Pakistan – 417 all out in 113.1 overs: Younis Khan 47, Sarfraz Ahmed 96, Asad Shafiq 131, Zulfiqar Babar 56, Dhammika Prasad 3/91, Nuwan Pradeep 2/71, Dilruwan Perera 4/122.
Sri Lanka (2nd Innings) – 206 all out in 77.1 overs: Dimuth Karunarathne 79, Lahiru Thirimanne 44, Dinesh Chandimal 38, Yasir Shah 7/76, Wahab Riaz 2/46.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here