Four districts in J&K declared as Red Zone by MHFW

Red Zone area in Pulwama
Locals in Pakherpora sealed entry & exit points to check the spread of COVID-19 after a positive case surfaced in a nearby area. (Photo Credit: Reshi Irshad)

SRINAGAR — Government of India on Friday declared four districts in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir as Red Zone in a bid to contain the spread of COVID-19.

According to an order issued by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India, four districts of J&K have been classified as Red Zone.

As per the order, four districts which have been declared as Red Zone include Srinagar, Bandipora, Anantnag and Shopian. These districts have been classified as hotspots / red zones based on the cumulative cases reported and doubling rate.

Pandemic has entered dangerous phase in J&K: Experts

As per the order, 12 districts have been classified as orange zones which include Baramulla, Kupwara, Ganderbal, Jammu, Udhampur, Kulgam, Budgam, Samba, Kathua, Rajouri, Ramban and Reasi while four districts have been classified as Green Zones which include Pulwama, Kishtwar, Doda and Poonch.

Editor's Note

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Get latest news updates by subscribing to our Telegram handle or join our WhatsApp Group!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here