List of Holidays in J&K for Calendar Year 2019

0
325

Srinagar: Jammu & Kashmir Government’s General Administration Department has released the List of Holidays in J&K for Calendar Year 2019.

The list of holidays for the calendar year 2019 has been issued under the Negotiable Instruments Act (1881) through Government Order No: 1744-GAD of 2018; Dated: 12-12-2018.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by the explanation of Section 25 of Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act 26 of 1881) read with the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs – Notification No. 20/25/56/Pub-1st; Dated: 30-11-1957, the Government of Jammu and Kashmir hereby declares the days to be public holidays during the calendar year 2019,” reads an order notification in this connection.

The Complete List of Holidays in J&K for Calendar Year 2019 is provided below:

S. No. Name of the Holiday Date Day
01. Republic Day 26th January Saturday
02. Mahashivratri 4th March Monday
03. Holi (Jammu Province only) 21st March Thursday
04. Yearly closing of Banks (Banks only) 1st April Monday
05. 1st Navratra 6th April Saturday
06. Baisakhi 14th April Sunday
07. Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar 14th April Sunday
08. Buddha Purnima 18th May Saturday
09. Jumat-ul-Vida* 31st May Friday
10. Shab-I-Qadr* 2nd June Sunday
11. Eid-ul-Fitr* 5th June Wednesday
12. Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday 5th July Friday
13. Martyr’s Day 13th July Saturday
14. Eid-ul-Azha* 12th & 13 August Monday & Tuesday
15. Independence Day 15th August Thursday
16. Janamashtami 24th August Saturday
17. Ashoora* 10th September Tuesday
18. Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 2nd October Wednesday
19. Dussehra 8th October Tuesday
20. Diwali 27th October Sunday
21. Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi* 10th November Sunday
22. Guru Nanak Dev’s Birthday 12th November Tuesday
23. Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi* 15th November Friday
24. Birthday of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah 5th December Thursday
25. Christmas Day 25th December Wednesday

*Note: All the Muslim holidays are subject to appearance of moon.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here