AGMUT Cadre: MHA lists J-K and Ladakh as ‘hard areas’


SRINAGAR — In a significant development, the Government of India has classified Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories as “hard areas” in the joint AGMUT cadre.

In a communique, a copy of which is in possession of news agency Kashmir News Observer (KNO), the Ministry of Home Affairs has informed all states and UTs – who are part of the AGMUT cadre – that J&K and Ladakh UTs have been categorized as hard areas in the joint AGMUT cadre.

“Consequent upon merger of J&K cadre in AGMUT cadre, the matter has been examined and with the approval of the competent authority, it has been decided that Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh may be considered as hard areas in joint AGMUT cadre,” reads the letter.

MHA initiates transfer of IPS officers in AGMUT cadre

As per guidelines governing transfer and postings of AGMUT cadre IAS, IPS and IFS officers, the states and UTs are classified into categories – regular areas and hard areas.

As per categorization done by MHA, Delhi, Chandigarh, Goa, Pudducherry, Darda Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu are regular areas while Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh have been classified as hard areas.

It is worthwhile to mention that J&K had its own separate cadre for IAS, IPS and IFS before the abrogation of Article 370.

IAS officer goes on leave, protesting 'abuses' by senior officer in J&K

In January 2021, the Centre promulgated an ordinance to merge the Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) cadre of All India Services officers such as the IAS, IPS and the Indian Forest Service (IFoS) with the Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here