Lok Sabha Election 2024 in Jammu and Kashmir

SRINAGAR — Breaking all previous records, a voter turnout of 59% was recorded in the Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 on Monday.

As per the news agency CNS, preliminary data collated by the Election Commission stated that Bandipora recorded approximate votes of 56.13% till 6 PM, Baramulla 52.15%, Beerwah 58.80%, Budgam 52%, Gulmarg 54.45%, Gurez 39.77%, Handwara 72.04%, Karnah 56.65%, Kupwara 55.68%, Langate 60.08%, Lolab 55.72%, Pattan 60.01%, Rafiabad 54.69%, Sonawari 58.64%, Sopore 40.10%, Trehgam 57.31%, Uri 59.07% and Wagoora-Kreeri 49.77%.

Gunfight breaks out in Sopore after 8-hour siege

The candidates who were in the fray for the Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency include NC’s Omar Abdullah, PC’s Sajad Gani Lone, PDP’s Mir Fayaz Ahmed and AIP’s Er Rasheed and other 18 contestants.

The polling in the Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency remained mostly incident-free and electorates were seen queuing outside the polling booths to cast their votes.

Meanwhile, CEC Rajiv Kumar along with fellow Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu appreciated the efforts of both civil and security personnel in the smooth and peaceful conduct of elections and thanked enthusiastic participation by the voters of J&K.

Lady among six injured in grenade explosion in Pattan

Earlier, in the fourth phase, Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency covering districts of Srinagar, Ganderbal, Pulwama, Budgam and Shopian districts partly recorded a voter turnout of 38.49%, the highest in many decades.

This was the first general election in the Valley after the abrogation of Article 370 and the enactment of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here