Srinagar Lok Sabha seat set for showdown on Monday

Lok Sabha Election 2024 in Jammu and Kashmir

SRINAGAR — The culmination of campaigning in the Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency signs the onset of an electoral battle in the fourth phase of the 18th Lok Sabha polls, slated to be held on May 13 (Monday), marked by the perennial rivalry between National Conference (NC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

According to the news agency KNO, the campaigning has come to an end today while the authorities have declared ‘Dry Day’ in Srinagar from this evening.

Dr Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat, who is the Returning Officer (RO) for Srinagar PC, has declared a “Dry Day” in Srinagar from 6:00 pm on May 11, 2024, till 6:00 pm on May 13, 2024 in the wake of the scheduled polling in the Constituency.

In this regard, an order has been issued by the District Magistrate stating, “In light of the ECI election schedule, District Srinagar is going to polls for Lok Sabha Elections-2024 on May 13, 2024, ‘Dry Day’ is declared from 6.00 pm on 11/05/2024 till 13/05/2024” in the district.

“Accordingly, all liquor shops, bars, eating houses etc will be shut during the said period and no liquor will also be served in hotels, clubs and other establishments,”, the order further reads.

PDP leader Naeem Akhter released from house detention

Meanwhile, a total of 17,47,810 voters are going to decide the fate of 24 candidates by casting their ballots in around 2135 polling stations across five districts of Kashmir. The polling will take place in 18 assembly segments on Monday from morning 7:00 am to evening 6:00 pm in Srinagar, Pulwama, Budgam, Ganderbal and Shopian.

As per the details available, more than two lakh electorates are first-time voters. Of the total 17.47 lakh voters, 8,75,938 are male and 8,71,808 are female electorates and 64 are third-gender voters. As per the data, there are around 11,682 persons with disability and 705 persons above the age of 100 years.

As the stage is set for the voting, the poll body has made an arrangement for four election staff at every polling station, thereby over 8,500 polling staff, including reserve, will be deployed on duty for polling in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

Around 20 polling booths across the constituency will be managed by the women, known as pink polling stations while 18 others will be managed by specially-abled persons.

The voters will have their valid identity proof like Aadhar Card, MGNREGA Job Card, Passbook with photograph issued by Bank or Post Office, driving license or other cards along.

J-K Police begins to attach properties 'used for planning attacks'

As per the details, more than 600 journalists and cameramen of print, electronic and social media platforms have been provided with passes to cover the polling.

While a tough contest is expected in the Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, a major battle is expected between the three candidates, who are fighting on the tickets of NC, PDP and Syed Altaf Bukhari-led Apni Party.

NC has fielded Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi while PDP has chosen a young face, Waheed-ur-Rehman Para and Apni Party has fielded Muhammad Ashraf Wani as the party’s candidate from Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

All three parties and candidates have many areas as their stronghold, thereby paving the way for the tight contest on May 13.

During the ongoing elections, Srinagar’s Downtown areas witnessed political rallies for the first time in the last several decades as the people were seen as enthusiastic and keen during the political activities in these areas.

Notably, the Apni Party has also got the support of former legislator Ishfaq Jabbar-led party in Ganderbal, which is expected to give a further push to the party candidate in this election.

Follow Us

The Kashmir Pulse is now on Google News. Subscribe our Telegram channel and Follow our WhatsApp channel for timely news updates!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here